Interview: Fender Heist

Photo taken by Olav Stubberud.

Norway. I’ve only ever been once (on a Young Farmers/4H trip – saw the countryside and also Oslo), but it was amazing and I would definitely go again. Anyway, over the last few years Norwegian music has been noticed more internationally. One Norwegian band I have recently discovered and really like is Fender Heist. I mentioned Fender A and Fender C back at the beginning of January and luckily enough the band managed to get some free time and answers some questions about themselves and their music: they even took time to take this picture and send it to me. (And as to where is Fender B that is explained – sort of)

How did you get into music?

Fender A: My father kinda forced me into it, making me play the violin for hours a day like a proper Tiger Mum when I was five years old. Then my brother gave me an old electric guitar and from that point on I stood in my room pretending to be Jimi Hendrix all day long. We met each other because we were both fascinated in producing music, and Fender C was maybe the first I knew who had a computer and recording equipment. So I forced him to produce my first record (I used to be a long-haired singer songwriter about the hardships of love) and from then on we kept working together.

Now you are called Fender Heist and you call each other Fender A and Fender C, why is that? And where’s Fender B?

Fender C: We were on a boat trip and a friend yellow out ‘Fender Heist!’ when he had taken up all the fenders. heist in Norwegian means ‘lifted’. Someone coined the phrase and we thought it was a good band name as any other so we opted to use it. Only problem was we didn’t have any band, so we started one. And that was Fender Heist.

Fender B: [yelling from the distance] I came up with that name, but they wouldn’t let me in the band. I’m planning to sue them.

How would you describe your music?

Fender A: I think to be honest the only word I’ll use for our music is pop. We don’t care to much about genres or putting lots of labels on our music. We do what we think is fun, and when we come up with a goof melody we’ll use it. As we speak right now Fender C is editing vocals for a new song which sounds like an afro pop meets dancehall tune, obviously far away from the sound of Chino. But it’s still pop.

How do you get inspiration for your music?

Fender C: By making c**p music. Whenever we’ve spent too much time making music we don’t care for or simply dislike, we get frustrated and then we make something that makes our feet go wild. Then we go out celebrating. That’s really our main motivation, leaving the studio on a high because you just made a good tune, going out to have a couple of drinks and then waking up the next day with a serious hangover. If the melody from the last night is stuck in our minds, then we know it’s a good song.

That’s probably the best answer I have ever heard from that question. And it makes total sense. Now, one of your tracks, and my favourite is Chino, what was the inspiration for this track?

Fender A: One of the few heroes in music we had in common during our teenage years were Chino Moreno, the vocalist of Deftones. The song Chino is a homage to him, and the feeling of going mental at parties whenever they put on a Deftones track.

If you could cover any track and put it on your next E.P. or album what would it be?

Fender A: Would I Lie To You by Charles and Eddie. A brilliant one hit wonder from the early nineties. Rather tricky falsettos in it, so it would probably sound s***.

Great choice because, coincidentally, that was number 1 in the UK when I was born. No joke! For those who don’t know what it is, here it is:

(I think if Fender Heist did a cover of this it would be awesome!)Now finally, what are your plans for the rest of 2013?

Fender C: We’re coming out with a new track soon called Fighter, where we have collaborated with an exceptionally talented young songwriter and vocalist from Norway, Katrin Fröder. Hopefully it will finance our annual summer boat trip where we plan to come up with a better band name.

Well I think the band name is great.

Thank you so much to Fender Heist for taking their time to answer the questions. Keep coming up with great music and I’m sure, like everyone else, can’t wait to hear the new track you are currently editing. Also thanks to photographer Olav Stubberud for the photo-shoot. Check out Fender Heist on Twitter here.

3 thoughts on “Interview: Fender Heist

Leave a Reply

